

\* To Yolo County DA Jeff Reisig

Jeff Reisig
District Attorney

Tessa Smith *Chairperson* 

Laura Valdes *Co-Chairperson* 

**Committee Members** 

Celina Alvarez

Alan Brownstein

Kara Hunter

Claudia Ibarra

Larry Love

Megan Macklin

Maria Isabel Mandujano

Bryce Miller-Williams

Gladys Mitchell

Diane Ortiz

Jonathan Raven

Sukhjit Singh

Jenny Tan

Steven Wong

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

## MCCC Justice Leadership Awards Nominations Sought

Contact: Jonathan Raven: jonathan.raven@yolocounty.org

Bilingual Representative available at: (530) 666-8356

(Woodland, CA) – August 20, 2021 The Yolo County District Attorney's Multi-Cultural Community Council Justice Leadership Awards Ceremony will be held on Wednesday, October 27, 2021, via zoom.

The mission of the Yolo County's Multi-Cultural Community Council is to enrich understanding of Yolo County's diverse population and to celebrate how cultural knowledge expands our ability to accept and appreciate differences. The Multi-Cultural Community Council is made up of individuals from throughout Yolo County. The MCCC is led by Yolo County District Attorney Jeff Reisig, along with MCCC Chairperson Tessa Smith. The MCCC acts as an advisory group to Reisig.

The awards ceremony is focused on recognizing individuals or organizations who promote multi-cultural relationships, acceptance and peace; forge diverse coalitions to assure ongoing community dialogue related to cultural awareness, the criminal justice system, and public safety; and ensure multi-cultural community participation in educational and informational programs related to accessing, understanding and providing input to the criminal justice system.

The MCCC is requesting nominations to recognize individuals or organizations in the following categories: Administration of Justice; Faith Based Communities; Public Schools; Human Services; and Community Engagement Volunteer. Nominations are due September 24, 2021.

If you would like to nominate a person or group, please complete the nomination form <a href="here">here</a> and return to Wendy Wilcox at: wendy.wilcox@yolocounty.org.

###